Nepal Trekking company

What is trekking?

Why trek in Nepal

When to trek?

Tea house/ Camping

Nepal Himalaya

Interesting facts

Trekking peaks

Trekking permits

Altitude Sickness

Everest Mani Rimdu

Gokyo Lake Trek

Gokyo Chola Pass EBC

Everest Base camp Trek

Classic Everest Trek

Everest Panorama Trek

Everest Helicopter Trek

Renjo, Kalapathar, EBC

Gokyo, Renjo, Thame

Nepal Himalaya

Nepal Himalaya is known as the rooftop of the world. The Himalayas are the highest mountains in the world. Their scenery is legendary. These mountains have had an air of mystery until recently. Even today, the vast area of the Himalaya is untouched. It has always remained a source of fascination and inspiration for people from all walks of life in the world. Himalaya (gHimh means snow and gAlayah means abode), the abode of snow and the Gods, extends about 2500 kilometers. The Brahmaputra (Assam) in the east and Indus river in the west demarcate the length of the Himalaya. It is 300 kms wide and rises nine kilometers above the sea level.

The Nepal Himalaya is in the center of the Himalayan range. Eight peaks that exceed 8000 meters including the worldfs highest peak Mt Everest are the prominent members of Nepal Himalaya. It has a convergence of 1310 magnificent peaks over 6000 meters. Nepal has become famous throughout the world due to these mountains.

It is a very interesting thing to know that there was a sea (the Tethys Sea) between Indian Gondwana continent (Indian sub continent and Eurasian continent). Around 70 and 80 million years ago, the Himalayan began to come into existence. It is a peak of each evolution only about 10 to 20 million years back. Therefore, the Himalayan is extremely young and geologically active. According to geologists, mountains are growing at a rate of 15 cm (6 inch) a year as the Indian plate is moving northward and forcing under the Eurasian plate. This process (plate tectonics) causes the earthquakes in this region. Geologists say that the collision of continents is squeezing up sedimentary rocks that were once below the sea. The mountains of Himalaya are the result of the collision of continents.

Nepal opened its mountains to all the mountaineers around the world in 1949. Only then mountaineers started coming to climb the mountains of Nepal. Especially, the 8000 meter peaks attracted most of the climbers. Afterward, climbers attempted the various untried routes without oxygen. Today, the Nepal Himalaya has been proved as a great theatre of mountaineering activity.

Why are the mountaineers or saints or philosophers or researchers or adventurers of the world attracted towards the Nepalease Himalaya? It is not just the height that gives the Himalaya their grandeur, but it is also the tremendous contrast with the deep valleys that wind between the peaks. Within these deep valleys, one can see the flow of the glacier fed rivers that are swift, white and exiting.

The Nepal Himalaya can be divided into nine mountain regions which are as follows:

1. Khumbu Himal Region
2. Kanchanjunga Reegion
3. Rolwaling Himal Region
4. Langtang and Jugal Himal Region
5. Manaslu and Ganesh Himal Region
6. Annapurna Himal Region
7. Dhalulagiri Hmal Region
8. Kanjiroa HImal Region
9. Far West Himal Region

Home  |  Nepal Tibet  |  Bhutan  |  Travelling Packages  |  Enquiry  |  Testimonials  |  Faqs  |  Contact Us

All contents © copyright 2009 Himalayan Smile Treks & Tours
All Rights Reserved.